The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Atlanta, Georgia

Mayors of Atlanta, 1848-2008 (may be incomplete!)
Moses W. Formwalt 1848-49 Benjamin F. Bomar 1849-50 Willis Buell 1850-51 Jonathan Norcross 1851-52 Thomas Gibbs 1852-53 John F. Mims 1853 William Markham 1853-54 William M. Butt 1854-55 Allison Nelson 1855 John Glen 1855-56 William Ezzard 1856-58 Luther Glenn 1858-60 William Ezzard 1860-61 Jared Whitaker 1861 Thomas Lowe 1861-62 James Calhoun 1862-66 James E. Williams 1866-69 William Hulsey 1869-70 William Ezzard 1870-71 Dennis Hammond 1871-72 John H. James 1872-73 Cicero C. Hammock 1873-74 S. B. Spencer 1874-75 Cicero C. Hammock 1875-77 Nedom L. Angier 1877-79 William Lowndes Calhoun 1879-81 James W. English 1881-83 John B. Goodwin 1883-85 George Hillyer 1885-87 John Tyler Cooper 1887-89 John Thomas Glenn 1889-91 William A. Hemphill 1891-93 John B. Goodwin 1893-95 Porter King 1895-97 Charles Collier 1897-99 James G. Woodward 1899-1901 Livingston Mims 1901-03 Evan P. Howell 1903-05 James G. Woodward 1905-07 W. R. Joyner 1907-09 Robert Maddox 1909-11 Courtland Winn 1911-13 James G. Woodward 1913-17 Asa G. Candler 1917-19 James L. Key 1919-23 Walter A. Sims 1923-27 Isaac Newton Ragsdale 1927-31 James L. Key 1931-37 William B. Hartsfield 1937-41 Roy LeCraw 1941-42 George B. Lyle 1942 William B. Hartsfield 1942-62 Ivan Allen, Jr. 1962-70 Sam Massell 1970-74 Maynard H. Jackson 1974-82 Andy Young 1982-90 Maynard H. Jackson 1990-94 Bill Campbell 1994-2002 Shirley Franklin 2002-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1853 Oct 29: John F. Mims, resigned.
  • 1855 Jul 6: Allison Nelson, resigned.
  • 1870: William Markham, defeated.
  • 1969: Rodney Cook (Rep), defeated.
  • 1973: Maynard H. Jackson, elected.
  • 1989: Hosea Williams, defeated.
  • 2001: Shirley Franklin, elected.
  • 2005: Shirley Franklin, elected.

    Postmasters at Atlanta, 1856-1976 (may be incomplete!)
    Thomas C. Howard 1856-58 William T. Wilson 1858-61 Thomas C. Howard 1861-65 Thomas G. Simms 1865-69 James L. Dunning 1869-74 Samuel Bard 1874-75 Benjamin F. Conley 1875-83 William H. Smyth 1883-84 William T. B. Wilson 1884-86 John W. Renfroe 1886-89 John R. Lewis 1889-93 Amos Fox 1893-97 William H. Smyth 1897-1902 Edwin F. Blodgett 1902-10 Hugh L. McKee 1910-13 Bolling H. Jones 1913-20 George C. Rogers 1920-22 Edwin K. Large 1922-34 Leonidas F. Livingston 1934-35 Leonidas F. Livingston 1935-52 Clyde Fleming 1952-53 Burl F. Sanders 1953-57 Burl F. Sanders 1957-63 Philip J. Rosenberger 1963 George W. Camp 1963-64 George W. Camp 1964-76

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/GA/ofc/atlanta.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]